let me Love you today

I have lived long enough with her; long enough to claim that I know her; that I understand her.

I was with the girl all the time. For a long time I knew she battled with the person that she was. Many a time she came to me crying; for she thought she should have been a different self. Better than she. Beautiful than she. Lovely than she. Assured than she.

I listened to her. I was with her; just as her shadow/always.

I had questions of my own. Why would someone like her want to be someone else? For there were times I wanted to be like her. To be her.

I stayed long enough to know that it was possible for her to love her. I listened to her; I cried with her; I walked with her; even during those moments when I should have left her alone. I laughed with her. And I loved her. More deeply each moment.

I sit here with her; like I never left. Now I am her shadow; I have been here long enough to make the claim that I know her. I have seen the girl blossom; I have seen her broken. I have seen her laugh/ and I have loved her.

She looks at me. And I still see the young girl that craved love – a love I often thought I couldn’t give. She asks me what I think about tomorrow; if I will be here with her; if I will still walk with her

It’s been many years with her. I know her. Her fears and her hopes. Her dreams; her fantasies. I wish I could consume her; I wish I could make the road straight for her; that she may have all she ever hoped for; all she ever dreamed about.

I want to make her world right. But I am only human. I do not control time; I wish I could; if only for her. I am not the Universe; If I was; the girl I now look at; would have me; the whole of me

Come child. Here with me.

Tomorrow is not here yet.

Let me love you today.

By lizombati

Leave a comment